Hampstead Scientific Society Richmond Scientific Society The British Science Association

To Current Programme page

OLD Hampstead Scientific Society Programme

Date Subject Speaker
Thurs 11th Sep
2008
8:15 pm
PERCEPTIONS AND VISUAL ILLUSIONS *** CANCELLED *** and replaced by
QUARTZ, THE MOST PRECIOUS MINERAL?
Prof. Peter McOwan (Queen Mary London)
Doug Daniels, President, Hampstead Scientific Society
Thurs 9th Oct.
8:15 pm
IS MAN JUST ANOTHER ANIMAL?
Prof. Steve Jones
(Dept. of Genetics, University College London)
Thurs 13th Nov
8:15 pm
THE FLIGHT OF THE BUMBLEBEE AND THE SCIENCE OF HOW AEROPLANES FLY
Dr Ken Zetie
(St Paul's School London)
Thurs 11th Dec
8:15 pm
OUT OF THE BLUE
John Naylor M Ed.
(Former Head of Physics, Emmanuel School, London)
Thurs 15th Jan 2009
8:15 pm
THE RED CELL - NOT SO SIMPLE
Dr Jonathan Wallis
(Freeman and Royal Victora Hospitals, Newcastle upon Tyne, and Newcastle University)
Thurs 12th Feb
8:15 pm
THE PHYSICS OF WOODWIND INSTRUMENTS
Dr David Sharp
(Acoustics Research Group, The Open University)
Thurs 12th Mar
8:15 pm
CLIMATE CHANGE: WHAT CAN SPACE TEACH US ABOUT OUR PLANET?
Dr Maggie Aderin-Pocock
(Astrium Ltd & Science Innovation Ltd.)
Thurs 23rd Apr
8:15 pm
THE ORIGINS OF THE ORIGIN OF SPECIES
Mike Howgate MSc
(The Amateur Geological Society)
Thurs 21st May
8:15 pm at ACRC
WATER ON MARS: WHERE SHOULD WE BE LOOKING?
Dr Peter Grindrod
(Dept. of Earth Sciences, University College London)
Thurs 25th June
8:00 pm at ACRC
AGM: Wine & Cheese £2 + scientific entertainment
******

For further details of HSS Meetings please e-mail: info@hampsteadscience.ac.uk

Top

Home Page

Last updated   10-Aug-2009